Skip to main content
Support - EBSCO Help

Point of Care Reference Centers - Search History

On EBSCO's Point of Care Reference Center interfaces (Nursing Reference Center, Patient Education Reference Center, Rehabilitation Reference Center), Search History is only available from the Advanced Search Screen.

To use search history:

  1. On the Advanced Search screen, click Search History/Alerts. The interface displays your most recent searches.

    search history

  2. You can do any of the following:

    • Mark the lines of search you want to use and click the Add checkbox. You will be returned to the search screen with the lines of search added to the Find field. Click Search. A Result List is displayed.

    • Click the RSS alert icon to display and then copy the Syndication Feed URL into your newsreader.

    • Click a linked View Results (xx). The search is automatically run and a Result List is displayed.

    • Click a Revise Search link. You will be returned to the search screen with the terms added to the Find field and any limiters/expanders marked. Click Search. A Result List is displayed.

    • Click an X to remove a search from the Search History list.

  3. To clear your search history, either click Clear Search History, or end your session.

    • The search history available to you includes only the searches from the current session. Unless you create a saved search, when your session ends, search history is cleared.

    • If you change databases, your search history is saved (the query only, not the result counts).

    • If the limiters and expanders you applied in the original databases are not available when you change databases or search screens, your searches may be affected.

    • If search history is opened in a new database, "Rerun" appears in the Results column. This indicates that the counts are not known because the search has not been run on your current database. When you view the results (by clicking on the "Rerun" link), a new search is launched and its results counts are added to the search history.

There may be situations where you rerun a search and obtain results that are different than expected.

  • If you run a search against a different database, the limiters and expanders you originally selected may not appear in the new database.

  • If you run a search against the same database, but the database has changed, the limiters and expanders you originally selected may no longer be available in that database.

The Search History Screen

  • Combine Searches With - To combine lines of history, mark the checkbox to the left of the lines and select a Boolean operator (and, or, not) from the drop-down list, and click Add. The lines of history are placed in the find field.

  • Add to Search - To combine lines of history, mark the check box to the left of the lines and select a Boolean operator (and, or, not) from the drop-down list, and click Add. The lines of search history are placed in the Find field.

  • Search ID # - The number assigned to your search. You can also select a search from the list by entering S and the search number (S1, S2, etc.).

  • Search Terms - The terms you entered in the Find field, including any field codes or Boolean operators.

  • Limiters/Expanders - The limiters and/or expanders used in your search are shown.  

  • Actions -   

    • View Results/Rerun - Either View Results (xx) or Rerun appears as a hyperlink. Click the link to return the search and display an updated Result List.

    • Revise Search - Indicates that the lines of search can be edited. When you click Revise Search, the search terms are displayed in the Find field. You can then edit the search manually, entering field codes or changing limiters and expanders in the search option area.  A new line of search history is created.

    • View Details - For each line of search history, the interface, search screen, and the database on which the search was last run.

  • Delete - Indicates that individual lines of search history can be deleted. If you delete a line earlier within search history, any dependent lines are deleted, and the remaining lines of search history are renumbered. A message appears when you delete lines of search history.

  • Show More/Show Less - Lets you control how much search history is displayed.