Skip to main content
Support - EBSCO Help

EBSCO's Curriculum Standards Module Overview

Curriculum Standards are created and published by U.S. states and Canadian provinces in order to convey the educational requirements in each subject area at each grade level that students are expected to learn and teachers are expected to teach. Standards are generally created for the main areas of social sciences (history and civics), science, mathematics and language arts.

View Tutorial

At EBSCO, we utilize a collection of standards and benchmarks from Academic Benchmarks, a premier standards data services provider. Academic Benchmarks accumulates all of the curriculum standards published by each U.S. state (except Iowa which doesn’t publish its own state standards), the U.S. Common Core, as well as standards for the Canadian provinces. (National standards such as NCTE or NGSS are not covered.)

Each standard is converted into a consistent XML format. We then align our own EBSCO Assets to Academic Benchmarks’ Common Term Catalog (CTC). A curriculum standard will contain many educational benchmarks. These benchmarks contain keywords and directions that educators can use to build their lesson plans.

EBSCO’s implementation of the content (Curriculum Standards Module) provides hierarchical, up-front browsing that directs the educator/researcher to a specific standard. Drop-down limiters include State, Standard, Subject, Year and Grade. Once these selections are made, a view of the standard is presented. Using plus and minus signs that precede the text, users can collapse and expand the standard in order to navigate to the specific educational benchmarks. EBSCO-specific search strings are found within many of the benchmarks to help educators find relevant content.

A direct link to the Curriculum Standards Module is available in the following interfaces:

  • Explora Educator's Edition (top toolbar)
  • History Reference Center (Reference Shelf feature area)
  • Literary Reference Center and Literary Reference Center Plus (Reference Shelf feature area)
  • Points of View Reference Center (Reference Shelf feature area)
  • Read It! (Research Guides feature area)
  • Science Reference Center (Reference Shelf feature area)

See also: